Infectious Diseases and One Health News Uganda

Coronavirus: Uganda Restricts Travelers From 16 Countries

Travellers from countries considered to have significant numbers of Coronavirus disease with potential to cause spread to Uganda are being restricted from traveling to the Uganda.

The latest countries affected by the travel restriction includes travellers from San Marino, Belgium, USA, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, Australia and Malaysia.

This new development is coming after the government last weekend put travel restrictions on seven other countries; Italy, Iran, South Korea, France, China, Germany and Spain, bringing the total number of affected countries to 16.

At this time, Uganda does not have any reported case of COVID-19 and the minister noted that the government was determined to take the needed precaution to prevent its spread to the country.

Travellers from restricted countries who wish to travel to Uganda are welcome but must self-isolate for 14 days at their own expense.

Those who refuse self-isolation will be asked to leave the country immediately:

“Uganda has no travel ban as has been reported by some people. We are not stopping anyone from coming to Uganda but people in restricted countries need to know that they will be followed up. We have put out the guidelines of self-quarantine on our website and those who are travelling should come prepared with an idea of what they will go through,” Dr Aceng explained.

According to The Observer, Uganda refused 22 European delegates entry into the country on March 9 after refusing to self-isolate. They had travelled to the country to take in Uganda-EU Business Forum.

The news outlet further reported that so far, 1,623 travellers had been followed by the Uganda ministry of health and asked for self-quarantine since COVID 19 outbreak in China in December 2019.

Of these 1,071 are Chinese, 244 are Ugandans, 443 are Italians and 34 are from South Korea.

Worldwide, more than 118,000 confirmed cases of COVID-19 have been reported and over 4,000 deaths occurred in over 100 countries.

In Africa, 11 countries have reported cases: Egypt, Algeria, Algeria, Nigeria, Tunisia, Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, Cameroon, Togo, Burkina Faso and DR Congo.

Got a story? Share with us.

AfricaHealthDesk is your platform. You can share activities of your organization, your hospital, your union or yourself with us - so long it is about health.

Also, if you are an Information Officer for your organization or the Press Officer of your ministry or the Public Relations Officer of your Union; if you are a doctor, a nurse or you belong to any other profession within the health sector and you want to create awareness about what is happening in your terrain, you are free to send your entries to us. We will be glad to publish your stories, your news, and your views.

If you belong to a Civil Society Organization, a Community-Based Organization or you are just a Concerned Citizen and you wish to tell us what bothers you in your domain or demand accountability about happenings in your settings, let us know.

Send all entries to or